My Decision on Goodreads vs BookLikes

After months of comparing Goodreads to BookLikes I have decided to stick with Goodreads.  For one thing copying everything to both is a chore.  I post my reviews on my blog, then Goodreads, then BookLikes and sometimes even Amazon.  It’s a real pain.  So I stopped posting to BookLikes sometime in December.  I’m not sure when but I realized I had stopped posting there.  Also, I already have a blog so the blog format of BookLikes isn’t really needed.  I know they are still working on their site but there are things that they don’t have that I wish they did.  I don’t like the format of the groups.  I love the way the Goodreads groups are set up.

So after giving it several months trial and using both I have decided to drop BookLikes.  I don’t like how you can’t really assign the format of a book without a real pain in the butt.  I don’t like how the reviews aren’t easy to find.  Truthfully I’m just not happy with much of anything.  What I do like is how I can read people’s posts.  BUT this is very similar to Bloglovin’ on my iPad so I’ll use that and concentrate on Goodreads and blogs.  I know this post is random and not very organized but those are my thoughts and my decision.  If you have any thoughts on my decision please leave a comment.

9 thoughts on “My Decision on Goodreads vs BookLikes

  1. I am huge fan of booklikes. I think it is a great way to categorize books if you have not started categorizing your books yet.

    However, like you it tried Boolikes for a few months and found it a chore. I already have Goodreads and I have it all sorted in to shelves and I have all of my groups. Copying that to Booklikes would be too much of a drag! 🙂

  2. I haven't heard of Booklikes either but I love goodreads so I that's probably why. Glad you posted this so I would be tempted to try if I did hear about it sooner.

  3. I did categorize all of my books. I spent more time on BookLikes than I did on Goodreads during my comparison. I had planned to keep up with both due to the things I like about BookLikes but as you said it is quite a chore.

  4. I think, given the time from the developers, BookLikes could be better than Goodreads in some ways. That said… Goodreads, despite being owned by Amazon, is mainly run by the users.

  5. I know a lot of people have issues with Goodreads but I love it. I honestly can't live without it. I am 100% with you on BookLikes, I don't want another blog, it's hard enough to keep up with that I don't want double work, I know a lot of people use it but I think I'll stick with Goodreads maybe if Booklikes is more user friendly I'll go back but I doubt it 🙂

    Michelle
    Because reading is better than real life

Tell me what you think!

