2017 Reading Challenges

Anyone that knows me from my other blog Rainy Gamez knows how much I love challenges.  But what they don’t know is that before I was addicted to challenges for The Sims I was addicted to reading challenges!  I used to be in several reading groups on Goodreads that had monthly or yearly challenges and I did blog-only ones too.  It’s been a long time but I’ve decided to get back into it.  As it’s halfway through March I had to pick through the ones that had a sign up deadline.  So here they are.  Hopefully I can do them justice:

(If you click the pic it will take you to the sign-up page with the rules.)

I’m going for:

Socially Awkward (Don’t talk to me) 15-20 audiobooks.

Normally, I’d go for a higher level and I was very tempted but since I haven’t been reading all that much in the last year I didn’t want to over do it.  I’m not making a list of books for this one since it’s not required.  I’ll just try to get whatever books I read on audio if possible.

(Click the pic to go to the sign-up and rules)

I had a hard time with picking an author for this one.  My first impulse was Molly Harper.  She’s the author of the Jane Jameson and Half-Moon Hollow book series.  I’ve read both series several times.  When I looked on her Goodreads page to see what of hers I haven’t read there wasn’t much.  So on I went looking through other authors from my read shelf.  After doing this for like an hour the thought occurred to me that the whole point of this challenge is to read more books by a favorite author… why would I pick one I hadn’t read most of their books?  So back I went to Molly Harper.  The list of books I haven’t read is short.  Most aren’t paranormal, which is most likely why I didn’t read them before.

Click for ALL of Molly Harper’s books

Books I haven’t read:

And One Last Thing…

Better Homes and Hauntings

Bluegrass Series

There’s also a new Half-Moon Hollow book being published in July.  I’m not sure if I’ll read all 5 books listed above but I’d like to.  I’m pretty sure I own Better Homes and Hauntings already.

(Clicky to go to the sign-up and rules page)

At first, I thought to myself I can’t do this one because I have no un-reviewed books… I haven’t been reviewing books for authors in quite some time.  Then, I remembered that when deleting a ton of junk mail from my rainyreviewz e-mail account I found some books that were giveaways that I’d never read or reviewed.  In both cases I had e-mailed the authors back and promised reviews.  Hang my head in shame.

On 11/13/2013 author Anna Zaires sent me 3 books from her Krinar Chronicles series:

Close Liasons

Close Obsession

Close Remembrance

On 12/01/2013 author Staci Hart sent me 3 books from her Hearts and Arrows series:

Deer in Headlights

Snake in the Grass

What the Heart Wants

I think 6 books is kind of a bit overwhelming since I’m not sure if I’ll even like them.  So my goal is to at least read and review the first books in each series and if I do like them I will review all of them.

(Clicky for sign-up and rules)

Reading Level 1:
12 books (1 book/month)

This one’s a bit more difficult than the others.  I’m going to try for books that will be released this year to make it easier to pick my “assignment.”  If I haven’t read the books in the series prior to the new release I’m adding those as well.  Since I’m signing up in March I’ll start with this month.

March- Into the Fire (Night Prince #4)

April- Immortal Unchained (Argeneau #25)

May- Night Broken (Mercy Thompson #8)

June- Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson #9)

July- Silence Fallen (Mercy Thompson #10)

August- The Accidental Sire (Half-Moon Hollow #6)

Bonus- Brighter Than the Sun (Charley Davidson #8.5)

September- The Dirt on the Ninth Grave (Charley Davidson #9)

October- The Curse of the Tenth Grave (Charley Davidson #10)

November- Eleventh Grave in Moonlight (Charley Davidson #11)

December- The Trouble with Twelfth Grave (Charley Davidson #12)

I had to do quite a bit of re-arranging because I knew books like the Half-Moon Hollow one wouldn’t have waited for a month or more before I could stand not reading them.  I added a bonus because I want to read that book but when I had it in the list it didn’t leave room for the 12th Charley Davidson book in this year.  I’ll read that one either in August or September.  I have no idea how I’ll be able to stop myself from reading all of the books at once.  I suppose it will be an exercise in patience.

So that’s all of the challenges!  Looking at them all I realize it’s a lot.  I’m not sure if I’ll be able to meet all of my goals but I would hope that I do!  Wish me luck.

3 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenges

Tell me what you think!